Nights in Rodanthe = 57 down, 43 to go

7 Jul

Movie
Nights in Rodanthe
Nicholas Sparks
240 pages

I’ll admit it…I enjoyed Nicholas Sparks’ breakout novel, The Notebook, as well as the subsequent movie. I think I found it engaging as I can be a somewhat of a sucker for a good love story that is more sentimental than sappy – kind of along the lines of Bridges of Madison County.

So it seemed kismet that while on my first, very official Outer Banks vacation that I should pick up another Nicholas Sparks story. of course, what more appropriate read than Rodanthe…as our vacation house was located in Rodanthe proper…with the house from the movie literally just a couple of minutes walk down the beach. It also helped that there was a copy of the book easily accessible from a fellow housemate.

I liked Nights in Rodanthe. It contains the same signature sentimentality, reflection and introspection as The Notebook.

I’ve been thinking about you constantly since I left, wondering why the journey I’m on seemed to have led through you. I know my journey’s not over yet, and that life is a winding path, but I can only hope it somehow circles back to the place I belong. That’s how I think of it now. I belong with you.

This book tells the story about a middle-aged woman fresh from a hurtful divorce. She plays manager of a bed and breakfast in Rodanthe, while the owner, a close friend, is out of town for a January weekend. She and the only guest, a handsome doctor quickly fall in love after an amazing weekend of sharing their joys and pains with one another.

But he soon has to leave to join his estranged son, a doctor working in an impoverished country. He and his son reconnect, and the doctor continues to correspond with the women. They talk of their love and plans for the future. Tragically, he dies in a horrible mudslide, and they are never able to fulfill their lives together.

This is an enjoyable story of love and passion, second chances and redemption, with some tragedy thrown in. Though I don’t think this book classifies as chick lit, it might be as close as I get to that genre and still be happy. Or as I’ve been told…I just haven’t found the right chick lit book yet.

Leave a Reply

