Bone Worship = 59 down, 41 to go

10 Jul

Recommendation
Bone Worship
Elizabeth Eslami
368 pages

America seems to often be the battleground for many a cultural clash – battling between our desire for all things to be stereotypical “American” and our desire to welcome and celebrate the diversity of all the cultures that  actually make up “America.”

This book brings the cultural clash to the family level for recent college-dropout, Iranian-American Jasmine Fahroodi. Her Iranian father, who is a doctor and himself has an American wife, is determined to arrange a marriage for Jasmine to an upstanding Iranian man. The story follows her frustration and discontent with her father’s singular focus and her mother’s seemingly blind following of his goal.

Through this journey, you see a contentious father-daughter relationship further exacerbated by the struggle between old country values and American sensibilities. Jasmine also is challenged to see and really understand her father:

Here’s an abbreviated version of what I know about my father…Mostly he observed us from a safe distance like a potentially flammable lab experiment. Yet he was nothing if not fiscally generous; he put us through school, paid for everything. My father had been present all the years of my life, but if I had to stand at his funeral one day and tell the world about his desires and hopes and who he was as a person, what he loved most, I’d stand there mute.

While it was a good story concept, I found the book a little tough to get through at times. At least by the end of the book, Jasmine is able to come to a balance between her own needs and desires and the expectations of her father.

One Response to “Bone Worship = 59 down, 41 to go”

  1. Lulu August 10, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    I’m almost finished with this book. Although I’m interested to see how the story ends, I personally find the characters very unlikable. Maybe it’s just my discomfort with the idea of arraigned marriages, obviously not a custom we’re use to in this country. Glad I read it and can add it to my list of books read. By the way, I felt the same way about the book The Reliable Wife, kept reading to see how it ended but not liking the characters very much.

Leave a Reply

