A little reading inspiration

19 Jul

We’ve all had those mornings where you just need a little pick-me-up…you know, the kind that coffee can’t provide (though if I even remotely liked coffee, it might help a little for an a.m. pick-me-up). So I went where I often go…looking for a quote to inspire and motive and help put the new week in a little better perspective. And I came across:

When you realize how perfect everything is, you will tilt your head back and laugh at the sky. ~Buddha

That Buddha, he always was a brilliant, insightful kind of god. But it reminded me that I have often also found inspiration in quotes involving reading. Here are a couple that I wanted to share:

Of all the diversions of life, there is none so proper to fill its empty spaces as the reading of useful and entertaining authors. ~Joseph Addison

To learn to read is to light a fire; every syllable that is spelled out of a spark. ~Victor Hugo

To read is to fly: it is to soar to a point of vantage which gives a view over wide terrains of history, human variety, ideas, shared experience and the fruits of many inquiries. ~A.C. Crayling

And a nod to the beloved bookstore:

Where is human nature so weak as in the bookstore? ~Henry Ward Beecher

Happy page flipping and exploring!

Leave a Reply

