“Women who read are dangerous”

15 Aug

I was looking for an image of “reading on a hammock,” as I obtained my first hammock this summer and it’s one of my favorite places to consume words. In searching, I found this perfectly delightful, playful painting by Silvano Gamba:

I found it on a blog called African Iguana in a post entitled, “Women Who Read Are Dangerous.” Of course the blog is in Portuguese, so I’m hoping the free online translation is correct. The post contains this image along with a number of other engaging paintings of women entangled in a good book.

I have to say the phrase…Women Who Read Are Dangerous…and all that it implies just thrills me.

Leave a Reply

