Mic and Jack’s summer vacation reading list (via Loonyville)

22 Aug

I clicked on this blog entry off WordPress’ homepage when I saw The Girl with a Dragon Tattoo in the photo. I’ve finished the first two books, just downloaded the third on Friday and am about a third of the way through it. I also loved the images of reading wherever one’s feet may take you. Plus I always enjoy reading other people’s book recommendations.

And I loved Mic’s description of When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris. I’ll have to add this book to my list.

It had me crying with laughter by page two. No kidding. It’s embarrassing to read this book in public. I was completely unable to control my outbursts of laughter. My herculean efforts to suppress the mirth resulted in haphazard explosions of snorts, sniggers and high-pitched cackles often accompanied by leaky tears. I looked and sounded like a lunatic.

Mic and Jack's summer vacation reading list I started hiking the TMB with my trusty Kindle loaded with new books to read. By day two I realized that paperback books are better suited for backpacking; it can better withstand the hard knocks of trekking. I was terrified I would crush my Kindle, which I’ve grown to love and adore. With a tear and a pout I shipped it home from a post office in France. Sniffle. And then we headed to the nearest bookstore to find me a paperback book. Throughout … Read More

via Loonyville

Leave a Reply

